

Council meeting highlights

MARCH 13TH 2024

Report from Chair

Chair Jay Simpson reported that the CSRD referendum regarding taxation to support the Shuswap Watershed Council was held on February 3rd and was defeated. Chair Simpson acknowledged the importance of the SWC and remarked that securing new funding to support the SWC will be a priority in 2024.

Report from Program Managers

Erin Vieira and Alex de Chantal provided an update on program operations since the last SWC meeting:

- Staff facilitated a bi-annual meeting of the Shuswap Water Monitoring Group in February to review and discuss the upcoming season of water quality monitoring across the watershed by various organizations
- The Water Quality Grant Program was open for applications from December 1st 2023 – January 31st 2024; staff received eight applications. The Water Protection Advisory Committee met in February to review the applications and recommended six of them of for funding.
- Phase 2 of the Wetland Strategy is progressing and is supported by a \$40,000 grant from Environment & Climate Change Canada
- Staff participated in the inaugural 'Okanagan-Interior Invasive Mussel Working Group' meeting facilitated by the Okanagan Basin Water Board in early March
- Staff worked with the Chair to write a letter to four Federal Ministers regarding urgently needed long-term funding to the Province of BC for preventing the spread of invasive mussels.

Expenses to the end of the third quarter (April 1st - December 31st 2023) total \$218,871 against the annual operating budget of \$354,964.

Water quality grants awarded

Four water quality grant applications were approved for funding. The total grant funding awarded is \$33,610 to two farms and a winery for improving agricultural/viticultural practices that will protect water quality.

Budget and work plan for 2024-25 approved

Staff presented the draft work plan and budget for 2024-25. The operational expenses total \$323,170 which will be partially funded by the SWC's Operating Reserve. The budget and work plan were approved, and come into effect April 1st 2024.

Election of Chair and Vice Chair for 2024

Rhona Martin, CSRD Director for Area 'E' (Rural Sicamous and Malakwa) was acclaimed as Chair of the SWC for 2024 and Natalya Melnychuk, CSRD Director for Area 'G' (Blind Bay, Sorrento, Notch Hill) was acclaimed as Vice Chair.

A full meeting summary is available on the SWC website.

SWC MFMBFRS:

Jay Simpson – Chair CSRD Area 'F'

Natalya Melnychuk – Vice Chair Chair

CSRD Area 'G'

Marty Gibbons CSRD Area 'C'

Dean Trumbley CSRD Area 'D'

Rhona Martin CSRD Area 'E'

David Lepsoe TNRD, Village of Chase

Reid Hamer-Jackson TNRD, City of Kamloops

Debbie Cannon City of Salmon Arm

Pam Beech District of Sicamous

Howard Nordquist Secwepemc Nation, Adams Lake Indian Band

Robyn Laubman Splatsin te Secwepemc

Rick Fairbairn RDNO Area 'F'

Brian Schreiner RDNO, City of Enderby

Kym Keogh

BC Ministry of Environment & Climate Change Strategy

Lindsay Benbow

BC Ministry of Agriculture & Food

Kelly Chiatto BC Ministry of Forests

Erik Kok

Community Representative

Kimm Magill-Hofmann Community Representative

Phil Owen

Community Representative

Dennis Einarson Senior Scientific Advisor