Fraser Basin Council
Home  |  CONTACT US: Offices AND Staff  |  Site Map

Board and Committees


Here’s a quick overview of the Fraser Basin Council Board and Committees. For current members, see: FBC Directors and FBC committees.

Fraser Basin Council Board

The FBC Board has 38 Directors — representatives from all orders of Canadian government within BC, together with people from the private sector and civil society, and an independent chair. This is a unique partnership of diverse interests, with all FBC Directors sharing a common focus: to advance sustainability.


There are 22 Directors from the four orders of government:

  • three from the federal government
  • three from the provincial government
  • one from each of the eight regional districts in the Fraser Basin:
    • Metro Vancouver
    • Squamish-Lillooet
    • Fraser Valley
    • Bulkley-Nechako
    • Thompson-Nicola
    • Columbia-Shuswap
    • Cariboo
    • Fraser Fort George
  • one from each of the Basin's eight major First Nations language groups:
    • Halq’emeylem
    • Hul’q’umi’num
    • Secwepemctsín
    • St át imcets
    • Nlaka'pamux
    • Nsyilxcen
    • Tsilhqot'in
    • Dakelh

The remaining 16 Directors are non-governmental appointees of the Council:

  • two from each of the Basin's five geographic regions (10 Directors in total), representing diverse sectors
  • three Basin-wide Directors to reflect the three dimensions of sustainability (economic, social and environmental)
  • a Director from among youth in the Basin
  • a Director with experience in the finance sector
  • a Chairperson.


The Fraser Basin Council supports the Board of Directors through a number of committees.

Currently, these are three committees of the Board:

  • Operations Committee
  • Governance Committee
  • Finance Committee.

Other committees include:

  • Youth Committee
  • Climate Change and Air Quality Committee
  • Watersheds and Water Resources Committee
  • Community and Regional Sustainability Committee
  • Regional Committees:
    • Greater Vancouver-Sea to Sky
    • Fraser Valley
    • Thompson
    • Cariboo-Chilcotin
    • Upper Fraser.

Our Vision

Social well-being supported by a vibrant economy and sustained by a healthy environment.

About the Fraser Basin Council

The Fraser Basin Council (FBC) is a charitable non-profit organization that brings people together to advance sustainability in the Fraser River Basin and throughout BC. Established in 1997, FBC is a collaboration of four orders of government (federal, provincial, local and First Nations) along with those from the private sector and civil society. We work with people in multiple sectors, helping them find collaborative solutions to today’s issues through a commitment to the social, economic and environmental dimensions of sustainability. Our focus is on healthy water and watersheds, action on climate change and air quality and strong, resilient communities and regions.

FBC Project and
Partner Sites

Plug in BC:


ReTooling for Climate Change:

FBC Youth:

Climate Action Toolkit: 

Salmon-Safe BC

Contact Us

FBC has offices in Vancouver, Kamloops, Williams Lake and Prince George. We also have staff located in Abbotsford and Vernon.

To reach us, see FBC Offices and FBC Staff.

Our main office is:

Fraser Basin Council
1st Floor, 470 Granville Street
Vancouver, BC V6C 1V5

T: 604 488-5350
F: 604 488-5351