Fraser Basin Council
Home  |  CONTACT US: Offices AND Staff  |  Site Map

Thompson Region

FBC's Work in the Region

The Fraser Basin Council Thompson staff support projects to advance social, economic and environmental health in the region ― through facilitation, project management and engagement services.

Learn about FBC programs in the Thompson:

FBC also facilitates community wildfire roundtables, including:

In addition, FBC delivers BC-wide programs that serve the region. These include:

See also:

Lifejacket station at Old Town Bay Boat Launch

The Fraser Basin Council provides program management services to the Shuswap Watershed Council, which works on initiatives to protect, maintain and enhance water quality and to promote safe recreation in the Shuswap.

About the Region

map_tr.jpgThe Thompson Region has a deep history, diverse landscapes and modern amenities.

Kamloops is the largest city and hub of the region’s economy, which includes forest industries, mining, agriculture, regional trade, education and training, manufacturing and tourism. Transportation and logistics, bio-energy, technology, and financial, professional, health and public services are also part of the economy.

Spanning 56,000 square km across BC’s southern Interior, FBC's Thompson region is defined primarily by watershed boundaries. On this basis, the region encompasses the North Thompson, South Thompson, Thompson/Nicola and Bridge-Seton watersheds as well as part of the Fraser Canyon.

From the standpoint of regional district boundaries, it includes the Thomson-Nicola Regional District (TNRD); some communities in the eastern Squamish-Lillooet Regional District (SLRD); the western portions of the Columbia Shuswap Regional District (CSRD); and communities such as Lumby in the northern part of the North Okanagan Regional District (NORD). Municipalities of the Thompson include Ashcroft, Barriere, Blue River, Cache Creek, Chase, Clearwater, Clinton, Enderby, Kamloops, Lillooet, Logan Lake, Lumby, Lytton, Merritt, Salmon Arm, Sicamous and Sun Peaks.

The Thompson Region is home to and includes the traditional territories of Indigenous peoples of the Nle?kepmxc'in, Secwepemcstin (Shuswap), Statimcets (Lillooet) and Okanagan language groups. First Nations in the region include Ashcroft, Boothroyd, Cook's Ferry, Kanaka Bar, Lytton, Nicomen, Oregon Jack Creek, Siska, Skuppah, Upper Nicola, Adams Lake, Bonaparte, Little Shuswap Lake, Neskonlith, Simpcw First Nation, Skeetchestn, Spallumcheen, Splats’in, Tk'emlups te Secwepemc, Whispering Pines, Cayoose Creek, Seton Lake, Coldwater, Lower Nicola, Nooaitch, Shackan, High Bar, N'Quatqua, Bridge River, Ts'kw'aylaxw, T'it'q'et and Xax’lip


Our Vision

Social well-being supported by a vibrant economy and sustained by a healthy environment.

About the Fraser Basin Council

The Fraser Basin Council (FBC) is a charitable non-profit organization that brings people together to advance sustainability in the Fraser River Basin and throughout BC. Established in 1997, FBC is a collaboration of four orders of government (federal, provincial, local and First Nations) along with those from the private sector and civil society. We work with people in multiple sectors, helping them find collaborative solutions to today’s issues through a commitment to the social, economic and environmental dimensions of sustainability. Our focus is on healthy water and watersheds, action on climate change and air quality and strong, resilient communities and regions.

FBC Project and
Partner Sites

Plug in BC:


ReTooling for Climate Change:

FBC Youth:

Climate Action Toolkit: 

Salmon-Safe BC

Contact Us

FBC has offices in Vancouver, Kamloops, Williams Lake and Prince George. We also have staff located in Abbotsford and Vernon.

To reach us, see FBC Offices and FBC Staff.

Our main office is:

Fraser Basin Council
1st Floor, 470 Granville Street
Vancouver, BC V6C 1V5

T: 604 488-5350
F: 604 488-5351

We are grateful at the Fraser Basin Council Society to live and work on the unceded ancestral
territories of the Indigenous Nations of British Columbia.